
2017 RULE CHANGE REQUEST 

UNSUCCESSFUL FIELD GOAL ATTEMPT (Rule 8-4-2-b-1)  

 
 
RULE 8-4-2-b-1, FR-83.  

 

INSERT:  “after  the kick crosses the neutral zone” after “Team B” in Line 1.  

DELETE:  “beyond the neutral zone” after “Team B” in Line 1. 

Rule:  8-4-2-b-1:  When the ball is declared dead beyond the neutral zone and is untouched 

by Team B after the kick crosses the neutral zone, it belongs to Team B.   

  

COMMENT:  “after the kick crosses the neutral zone” replaces “beyond the neutral zone” 

to be consistent with other rules such as 6-3-2, 6-3-3 & 6-3-11. 

 

INTENT:  

[1]   Rewrite this rule to be consistent with other rules for scrimmage kicks.  

[2]   The ball “belongs to” Team A if a Team B player touches the ball behind the neutral 

zone after the kick crosses the neutral zone and then the ball is recovered by a Team A 

player.   There are still officials who believe that touching of a kick behind the neutral zone 

is ignored, perhaps based on the wording of this rule. 

[3]   If this rule is correct, then the exception should be so noted in Rule 6-3-3 and possibly 

other rules. 

 

SOURCE:  Rom Gilbert [8/28/16] ……. (rc17-842b1) 

 


