2017 REPLAY QUIZ #11

2/10 @ A-35. A16's pass is complete to A82 at the B-45 where he is downed. The ruling on the field is that A82:

a.

was legally blocked out of bounds by B27, and returned inbounds immediately, resulting in 1/10 @ B-45 (no foul).
Replays show that B27's contact was slight and, in the Replay Official's judgment, A82 went out of bounds on his
own.

Not Reviewable. Only reviewable if B27 did not contact A82 at all. See 2017 Replay Case Play #64.

stepped out of bounds on his own, and returned inbounds immediately, for a result of 3/10 @ A-35 (lllegal
Touching). Replays show that B27 legally blocked A82 and, in the Replay Official's judgment, this contact caused
A82 to go out of bounds.

Reverse to 1/10 @ B-45 (no foul). Can reverse if "clearly shoved". See 2017 Replay Case Play #45.

stepped out of bounds on his own, and returned inbounds immediately, which the Replay Official confirms without
stoppage. The Referee announces, "lllegal Touching, #82, Offense. The penalty is loss of down at the previous
spot. 2nd down." This error is undetected by both onfield officials and the Replay Official. On the next play, A16
gains five yards to bring up what onfield officials think is 3/5 @ A-40. The Replay Official then realizes the error
and has indisputable video evidence.

Reverse to 4/5 @ A-40. Replay's ability to correct the down includes "the result of a penalty enforcement”
(12-3-5-d-1), and "may be made at any time within that series of downs" (12-3-5-d-2).

2/10 @ B-40. A13's pass is complete to A86, and he steps out of bounds at the B-15. The referee announces:

a.

"Pass Interference, Offense, #86. Fifteen-yard penalty. 2nd Down." Replays show that B79 tipped the ball at the
line of scrimmage.

Reverse to 1/10 @ B-15. Touching of a pass is reviewable per 12-3-2-b.

"There is no foul for Offensive Pass Interference. The ball was tipped. 1st down." Replays show that the pass
was not tipped.

Reverse to 2/25 @ A-45. This announcement permits the foul to be reinstated after review.

"Pass Interference, Offense, #86. Fifteen-yard penalty. 3rd Down." This error is undetected by both onfield
officials and the Replay Official. On the next play, A13 is sacked for a ten-yard loss to bring up what onfield
officials think is 4/35 @ A-35. The Replay Official then realizes the error and has indisputable video evidence.

Reverse to 3/35 @ A-35. The Replay Official can correct the down as in 1c above.

2/10 @ B-15 with 0:08 remaining in the 4th Quarter and the score A-17, B-21. A36 is hit and stumbles near the B-5,
but regains his balance and carries the ball across B's goal line. Replays show that, with 0:04 remaining on the clock,
A36's arm touched the ground with the ball at the:

a.

B-4, and that A36 subsequently crossed the goal line.

Reverse to 1/G @ B-4. Reset the clock to 0:04 because the line-to-gain was reached. How much (if any)
time remained when A36 crossed the goal line, and whether or not Team A has a time out remaining, are
of no consequence in resetting the clock. If a reversal creates a stopped clock (in this case, the line to
gain being reached), the clock is reset. The clock will start on the Ready unless Team A has and elects to
call a time out. See the first paragraph on page 80 of the 2017 Replay Case Book.

B-6 and that A36 crossed the goal line with 0:02 on the clock.

Reverse to 3/1 @ B-6. The clock remains at 0:02 because the line-to-gain was not reached. Whether or
not Team A has a time out remaining is of no consequence in resetting the clock since time did not
expire. Since the reversal did not create a stopped clock (in this case, the line to gain not being reached)
and time did not expire, the clock is not reset. The clock will start on the Ready unless Team A has and
elects to call a time out. See 2017 Replay Case Play #152 (1).

B-6, and that A36 crossed the goal line with 0:00 on the clock. Team A has one time out remaining.

Reverse to 3/1 @ B-6. Reset the clock to 0:04 and charge Team A with their final time out. The line-to-
gain was not reached, so the clock would have remained running, but since Team A had a time out
remaining and time expired, they may use the time out to create a stopped clock at the point the ball
became dead. Start the clock on the Snap because of the time out. See 2017 Replay Case Play #152 (2b).

B-6, and that A36 crossed the goal line with 0:00 on the clock. Team A has no time outs remaining.

Reverse to 3/1 @ B-6. The line-to-gain was not reached, so the clock would have remained running, and
since Team A had no time outs remaining, they can not create a stopped clock. Game over. See 2017
Replay Case #152 (2a).



