
2017 REPLAY QUIZ #9 
 

1. 1/10 @ A-5.  A8 drops back into his own end zone to pass where he is hit, and the ball comes loose as his arm is 
moving forward.  The ruling on the field is an incomplete forward pass, but replays show that the ball was not in A8's 
control when his arm began forward.  In the immediate continuing action: 

 

 a. B79 recovered the ball at the A-2 and ran it into A's end zone. 
  

B - 1/G @ A-2.  Per 12-3-3-b-2, Replay awards the ball to Team B at the spot of recovery, but the advance 
is nullified.  If the clock continued to run, it should be adjusted to the point of B79's recovery. 
  

 b. A63 recovered the ball in A's end zone and advanced it to A-2. 
  

Safety.  A - F/K @ A-20.  As above, the advance is nullified, and this leaves A in possession of the ball in 
their own end zone.  If the clock continued to run, it should be adjusted to the point of A63's recovery. 
  

 c. Both A63 and B79 fell on the ball in A's end zone, and replays do not reveal clear recovery be either player. 
  

A - 2/10 @ A-5.  Per 12-3-3-b-2, if the Replay Official does not have indisputable video evidence as to 
which team recovers, the ruling of incomplete pass stands.  Adjust the clock if necessary. 
 

2. 2/20 @ A-40.  The ruling on the field is that A16's pass was first touched by A86 at the B-40, where it fell incomplete, 
and that:  

 

 a. B37 interfered with A86 at the B-40, resulting in A - 1/10 @ B-45.  Replays show that: 
 

  i. B73 tipped the pass at the line of scrimmage. 
  

A - 3/20 @ A-40.  Replay may review touching of a forward pass (12-3-2-b), and B73's touching 
negates the defensive pass interference foul per 7-3-9-h. 
 

  ii. B37 tipped the pass just prior to A86 touching it. 
  

A - 1/10 @ B-45.  Per p. 36 of the 2017 Replay Case Book, "A defender touching a pass 'in the vicinity' 
of the receiver who was interfered with does not negate a foul for defensive pass interference."  
Specifically, "Replay will never remove a foul if the player who touches the pass is the same player 
who committed the defensive pass interference." 
 

 b. B37 held A86 at the 50, resulting in A - 1/10 @ 50.  Replays show that: 
 

  i. B73 tipped the pass at the A-39. 
  

A - 2/10 @ 50.  Replay's review of the touching of a forward pass under 12-3-2-b includes whether the 
touching is beyond or behind the line of scrimmage.  Per 2-19-3-a, a legal forward pass has not 
crossed the neutral zone when it first strikes the ground, a player, an official or anything in or behind 
the neutral zone inbounds, and so the automatic first down provision of 9-3-5 does not apply. 
 

  ii. B73 tipped the pass at the A-41. 
  

A - 1/10 @ 50.  Per 2-19-3-a, a legal forward pass has crossed the neutral zone when it first strikes the 
ground, a player, an official or anything beyond the neutral zone inbounds, and so the automatic first 
down provision of 9-3-5 does apply. 
 

3. 3/5 @ B-25.  B67 is lined up in the neutral zone at the snap.  A10's pass to A84 near the goal line pylon is ruled 
complete for a touchdown.  Replays show that A84: 

 

a. had firm control of the ball when he first touched the ground with his left foot in the field of play.  The ball in his 
possession crossed the sideline at the B-1, then the goal line extended, and then his right foot touched the pylon. 

 

 Touchdown.  A84 completed the process of the catch inbounds, then qualified for the goal line extended 
by virtue of touching the pylon.  The penalty for B67's foul is declined by rule. 

 

b. touched the pylon with his right leg as he leaped for the ball, then landed with both feet in the end zone and the 
ball securely in his possession beyond the goal line. 

 

 A - 1/10 @ B-20.  The loose ball was dead when A84 touched it since he was considered out of bounds.  
The result of the play is an incomplete pass, so the penalty for B67's foul would be enforced. 

 

c. brushed against the pylon with his right leg, then caught the ball while standing with both feet in the end zone and 
the ball beyond the goal line. 

 

 A - 3/5 @ B-25.  A84 was guilty of illegal touching since he went out of bounds and was the first to touch 
the pass inbounds.  A84's foul offsets B67's foul, and the down is replayed. 


