
2017 REPLAY QUIZ #6 
 
1. 3/G @ B-5.  The score is A-14, B-20 with 0:06 remaining in the 4th quarter and Team A with no time outs remaining.  

A7 carries to near the goal line where the ruling on the field is that the ball in A7's possession: 
  
 a. was short of the goal line plane when A7's knee touched the ground, and time expired.  Replays show that the 

ball in A7's possession broke the goal line plane with 0:02 remaining prior to his knee touching the ground. 
  

Reverse to Touchdown.  Reset the clock to the time remaining when the ball broke the goal line plane.  
Following the Try, it will be A - F/K @ A-35 with 0:02 remaining. 
  

 b. broke the goal line plane with 0:02 remaining prior to his knee touching the ground.  Replays show that the ball in 
A7's possession was short of the goal line plane when A7's knee touched the ground. 

  
Reverse to B - 4/G @ B-1/2.  Clock remains at 0:02 and starts on the Ready.  Team A gets one more 
chance to score -- an opportunity they would not have had if the ruling on the field had been correct. * 
 
* Under NFL rules, this would result in a 10-second runoff, and the game would be over.  The end of the 
Sunday, September 24, 2017 Atlanta Falcons @ Detroit Lions game provides a timely example of this. 
 

2. 1/10 @ B-35.  A12's pass is complete to A89 at the B-20, and he runs down the sideline.  The covering official rules 
that A89 stepped on the sideline at the: 

 
 a. B-10.  Replays show that A89 did not step on the sideline, and that he continued inbounds and ran across the 

goal line with the ball in his possession. 
  

Not reviewable.  The errant ruling of A - 1/G @ B-10 will stand.  If a runner is ruled out of bounds, that 
ruling will stand unless he scores in his immediate continuing action -- limited to "a step and a dive". ** 
  

 b. B-4.  Replays show that A89 did not step on the sideline, and that he took one more step inbounds and dived for 
the goal line pylon, which he touched with the football before any part of his body touched the ground. 

  
Reverse to Touchdown.  Since A89 scored in no more than "a step and a dive", Replay may overturn the 
incorrect out of bounds ruling. 
  

 c. B-4.  Replays show that A89 did not step on the sideline, and that he took one more step inbounds and dived for 
the goal line pylon, but his knee touched the ground with the ball at the B-1/2. 

  
The ruling on the field will stand.  A - 1/G @ B-4.  While a review will likely be necessary to determine that 
A89 did not get the ball into the end zone, a reversal is only permitted if he scores in no more than "a step 
and a dive". 
 
** A long run early in the 2nd quarter of the Saturday, September 23, 2017 Arkansas vs. Texas A&M game 
includes an example of this ruling. 
 

3. F/K @ A-35 following a touchdown and successful PAT.  The score is A-28, B-24 with 0:07 remaining in the 4th 
quarter.  Team B fields the kick at the B-10 and runs a play which involves many cross-field passes -- all ruled 
backward on the field -- and which results in an apparent game-winning touchdown with 0:00 on the clock.  Replays 
shows that a pass from B84 at the B-30 is forward and: 

 
 a. complete to B31 with 0:02 on the clock. 
  
  Reverse to an illegal forward pass.  The clock would not have stopped for a complete illegal forward pass, 

so no time is placed back on the clock.  Since the statement of the penalty (if not the actual penalty, since 
after a change of possession) includes a loss of down, there is no extension of the period, and the game 
is over with Team A winning 28-24. 

  
 b. incomplete, striking the ground with 0:02 on the clock. 
 
  Reverse to an illegal forward pass.  The clock would have stopped for an incomplete illegal forward pass, 

placing 0:02 back on the clock…and there is no ten-second runoff for a foul which occurs after a change 
of possession.  Thus, it is B - 1/10 @ B-25 with 0:02 remaining. 


