
 

2017 REPLAY QUIZ #1 
 

1. 4/5 @ A-20.  B37 signals for a fair catch of A6’s punt.  The ball goes through B37’s hands at the B-45, but the Back 
Judge sounds his whistle, and the Referee announces, “The ruling on the field is that the receiver caught the kick.”  
Replays clearly show that B37 did not possess the ball, and that in the immediate continuing action: 

 

a. A81 recovered the ball at the 50. 
 

Reverse to A - 1/10 @ 50.  Suggested announcement: "After further review, the receiver did not possess 
the ball, and there was a clear recovery by the kicking team."  If A fouled during the down, B will accept 
the penalty and have A re-kick after enforcement from the previous spot.  If B fouled during the down, A 
will decline the penalty. 
 

 b. the loose ball went into a pile at the 50 where video provided no evidence of a clear recovery. 
 

The errant ruling of B - 1/10 @ B-45 will stand.  Suggested announcement: "After further review, the 
receiver did not possess the ball; however, since there was no clear recovery, the dead ball ruling 
stands."  If A fouled during the down, B will accept "tack-on" enforcement.  If B fouled during the kick, 
Team A will accept PSK enforcement.  If B fouled prior to the kick, A will retain possession after 
enforcement from the previous spot. 
 

2. 3/15 @ A-40.  A7's pass is complete to A82 near the line of scrimmage, and he runs to the B-40 where he is tackled.  
The Field Judge flags A89 for Offensive Pass Interference, resulting in A - 3/30 @ A-25. 

 

 a. Replays show that while A82 did not establish firm control of the ball until he was at the A-41, he first touched the 
ball at the A-39. 

 

Reverse to A - 1/10 @ B-40.  Replay may always determine where a pass was touched, and since this pass 
was first touched behind the neutral zone, it is deemed not to have crossed the neutral zone; therefore, 
there can be no foul for Pass Interference. 
 

b. The Line Judge advises the Referee that A82 first touched the pass behind the neutral zone, and the Referee 
announces, "There is no foul for Offensive Pass Interference.  The pass was touched behind the neutral zone."  
The result of the play is A - 1/10 @ B-40.  Replays show that A82 first touched the pass at the A-41. 
  
Reinstate the foul, for which B will accept the penalty to bring up A - 3/30 @ A-25.  Again, Replay may 
always determine where a pass was touched, and since it was not touched behind the neutral zone, Pass 
Interference rules apply. 
  

3. 2/10 @ B-40 with 9:37 remaining in the 3rd quarter.  Quarterback A15 is near the sideline when he releases a pass 
which is intercepted by B36 at the B-20. 

 

a. B36 returns the interception to the B-25 where he runs out of bounds (9:26).  Replays show that A15 stepped on 
the sideline at the B-45 (9:31) prior to releasing the pass. 

 

Reverse to A - 3/15 @ B-45 and start the clock on the Ready.  Replay can always put a runner out of 
bounds, and adjust the clock to the time that it should have stopped by rule. 

 

b. The Referee rules that A15 stepped on the sideline at the B-45 prior to the pass and stops the clock (9:31).  
Replays show that A15 released the ball prior to stepping on the sideline. 

 

Not reviewable.  The errant ruling of A - 3/15 @ B-45 - Ready will stand.  When a runner is ruled out of 
bounds, Replay is out of it unless the incorrect ruling is made near the goal line, and the runner 
subsequently scores in the immediate continuing action (no more than "a step and a dive"). 
  

4. 1/10 @ B-20 with 0:13 remaining in the 4th quarter.  The score is A-24, B-28, and A has no time outs remaining.  
A10's pass is complete to A85, but he cannot get out of bounds and is tackled at the B-15.  Team A hurries to the line 
so that A10 can legally ground the ball and preserve one more play.  The clock shows 0:00 after A10 grounds the ball. 

 

 a. Replays show that, when the ball struck the ground, the clock read 0:01. 
 

Page the field immediately.  After review, reset the clock to 0:01, and it will be A - 3/5 @ B-15 - Snap. 
 

 b. The Side Judge runs in and tells the Referee that there should be 0:01 remaining, and the Referee makes the 
appropriate announcement.  Replays show that, when ball struck the ground, the clock read 0:00. 

 

Reverse to Game Over.  While it is generally true that Replay can "put time back on, but can't take time 
off", this essentially means that we can't (and shouldn't) "guess" as to how much time MIGHT have come 



off the clock if it had not been stopped prematurely by an incorrect ruling.  Here, though, Replay can (and 
must) ensure that an additional play is not run when video provides clear evidence that time had expired. 


