
2016 REPLAY QUIZ #14 
 

1. 3/5 @ B-20.  The Field Judge rules A14's pass to A86 in the end zone complete for a touchdown; however, the Line 
Judge flagged A86 for Illegal Touching.  Replays show that A86: 

 

 a. stepped out of bounds on his own at the B-1 and was the first to touch the pass inbounds. 
  
  Confirm the ruling on the field.  The touching and foul are reviewable (12-3-2-b and 12-3-8-e).  The penalty 

is loss of down at the previous spot (7-3-4), and the clock will start on the snap because of the touchdown 
(3-3-2-c).  A - 4/5 @ B-20 - Snap. 

 

 b. leapt from out of bounds at the B-1 to touch the pass. 
 

  No need to stop the game as both the ruling on the field (Illegal Touching) and the actual result 
(incomplete pass per 2-27-15-a-2, 4-2-3-a, and 7-3-7-a) will result in A - 4/5 @ B-20 - Snap.  The clock starts 
on the snap whether this is an incomplete pass or a touchdown negated by Illegal Touching.  

 

 c. leapt from out of bounds at the B-1 to touch the pass.  Also, B79 was in the neutral zone at the snap. 
 

  Reverse to an incomplete pass, after which Team A will accept the penalty for B79's foul.  The result will 
be A - 1/10 @ B-15 - Snap.  Without a foul by Team B, a stop would not change a thing, but here it 
changes the ruling on the field (Offsetting Fouls -- A - 3/5 @ B-20 - Snap) to a new series for Team A. 

 

2. 2/15 @ B-45.  Quarterback A7 scrambles, and the Referee rules that his knee contacts the ground with the ball in his 
possession at the A-45.  Replays show that prior to his knee contacting the ground, A7: 

  

 a. fumbled the ball, and that in the immediate continuing action, B93 recovered the loose ball at the A-47. 
 

  Reverse to a fumble with clear recovery in the immediate continuing action (12-3-3-d-2).  As the clock 
would have remained running under the initial ruling, reset the clock to the time of B93's recovery.  The 
result will be B - 1/10 @ A-47 - Snap. 

  
 b. fumbled the ball, and that in the immediate continuing action, A68 recovered the loose ball at the A-47. 
  

  No need to stop the game as there is no direct competitive impact by allowing the ruling on the field 
(Runner Down -- A - 3/25 @ A-45 - Ready) to stand in favor of the correct ruling (Fumble with Clear 
Recovery in the Immediate Continuing Action -- A - 3/23 @ A-47 - Ready).  As a matter of fact, if time were 
of the essence, stopping the game and the clock at this point could put one team at an advantage. 

 

 c. threw a forward pass that fell incomplete in the vicinity of eligible receiver A86. 
  

  Not reviewable.  The errant ruling of A - 3/25 @ A-45 - Ready will stand.  While a ruling of runner down 
when in fact the ball was fumbled is reviewable, the same is not true if the ball was actually passed.  
While this is anecdotally correct, an additional case play is needed to clarify this as non-reviewable. 

 

3. 1/10 @ A-30.  Quarterback A12 scrambles, and the Referee rules that he steps out of bounds with the ball in his 
possession at the A-20 with 4:56 remaining in the 2nd quarter.  Replays show that prior to his foot contacting the 
sideline, A12: 

 

 a. fumbled the ball at the A-20, and in the immediate continuing action, B79 recovered the loose ball at the A-25. 
 

  Reverse to a fumble with clear recovery in the immediate continuing action (12-3-3-d-2).  If the clock was 
restarted prior to Replay notifying the officials of the review, it will need to be reset.  In any case, the 
result will be B - 1/10 @ A-25 - Snap. 

 

 b. fumbled the ball at the A-20, and in the immediate continuing action, the ball rolled out of bounds at the A-25. 
 

  No need to stop the game as both the ruling on the field (runner out of bounds at the A-25) and the actual 
result (forward fumble out of bounds, returned to the spot of the fumble per 7-2-4-b-1) will result in A - 
2/20 @ A-20 - Ready.  The clock starts on the ready whether this is a runner out of bounds (3-3-2-e-3) or a 
forward fumble out of bounds (3-3-2-e-2). 

 

 c. threw a forward pass that fell incomplete in the vicinity of eligible receiver A86. 
  

  Not reviewable.  The errant ruling of A - 2/20 @ A-20 - Ready will stand.  While a ruling of runner out of 
bounds when in fact the ball was fumbled is reviewable, the same is not true if the ball was actually 
passed.  This is clear from 12-3-3-g, but an additional case play to clarify this would be a nice touch. 


