
2016 REPLAY QUIZ #12 
 

1. F/K @ A-35.  The ruling on the field is that A87 legally recovered A9's on-side kick at the A-46.  Replays show that: 
 

 a. the ball touched B98's leg and then immediately A21's leg at the A-44 prior to A87's recovery. 
 

  Confirm the ruling of A - 1/10 @ A-46 - Snap.  Touching of a kick is reviewable (12-3-4-a), and once B98 
touched the kick, A21's touching was legal (6-2-3-a-1).   

 

 b. the ball touched A21's leg at the A-44 prior to A87's recovery, and was untouched by any member of Team B. 
 

  Reverse to Illegal Touching.  B - 1/10 @ A-44 - Snap.  Touching of a kick is reviewable (12-3-4-a), A44 
touched the free kick before it was beyond Team B's restraining line (6-2-3-a-2), and the receiving team 
may take the ball at the spot of this violation (6-2-3-b). 

 

 c. A21 blocked B98 at the A-46 while the ball was at the A-44.  The kick was untouched by any member of Team B. 
 

  Reverse to Illegal Block.  A - F/K @ A-30 - Free Kick Timing.  Blocking by Team A players before they are 
eligible to touch the ball on an on-side kick is reviewable (12-3-4-e), and A21's block before the kick was 
touched by a Team B player or was beyond Team B's restraining line is a foul.  The penalty is five yards 
from the previous spot (6-1-12). 

 

 d. when A87 touched the ball -- untouched by any member of Team B -- at the A-46, his foot was on the sideline. 
 

  Reverse to Free Kick Out of Bounds.  B - 1/10 @ A-41 - Snap.  The recovery of a loose ball is reviewable 
(12-3-3-j), and the loose ball is out of bounds when touched by A87, who is out of bounds (4-2-3-a).  Since 
the kick untouched by an inbounds player of Team B went out of bounds, this is a foul (6-2-1) and the 
five-yard penalty will be enforced at the spot where the subsequent dead ball belongs to Team B (6-1-8). 

 

2. 3/10 @ B-40 with 0:39 remaining in the 4th quarter, the score A-24, B-28, and Team A with no time outs remaining. 
From the B-45, A7 throws the ball toward A89 and the pass is ruled backward.  A89 catches the pass, and from there 
throws downfield to A26 near the sideline at the B-15, and this pass is ruled incomplete with 0:31 on the clock.  
Replays show that: 

  

 a. A89 caught the ball at the B-46, and A27 secured control of A89's pass while airborne and then touched the 
ground first with his left foot out of bounds and then his right foot inbounds. 

 

  Confirm the ruling of A - 4/10 @ B-40 - Snap.  A7's pass was backward, and therefore 89's pass was legal, 
though incomplete. 

  
 b. A89 caught the ball at the B-46, and A27 secured control of A89's pass while airborne and then touched the 

ground first with his right foot inbounds and then his left foot out of bounds. 
  

  Reverse to A - 1/10 @ B-15 - Snap.  A7's pass was backward, and therefore 89's pass was legal, but 
complete. 

 

 c. A89 caught the ball at the B-44, and A27 secured control of A89's pass while airborne and then touched the 
ground first with his right foot inbounds and then his left foot out of bounds. 

  

  Reverse to A - 4/19 @ B-49 - Snap.  A7's pass was forward, and therefore 89's pass was illegal (but 
complete) as it was the second forward pass.  The penalty is five yards from the spot of the pass and a 
loss of down (7-3-2-d). # 

 

 d. A89 caught the ball at the B-44, and A27 secured control of A89's pass while airborne and then touched the 
ground first with his left foot out of bounds and then his right foot inbounds. 

   
  Reverse to A - 4/19 @ B-49.  A7's pass was forward, and therefore 89's pass was illegal as it was the 

second forward pass (penalized as above), and it was also incomplete, thus qualifying it for a 10-Second 
Runoff (3-4-4-a-3).  Reset the clock to 0:21, and start the clock on the Ready (3-4-4-c). # 

 

  # For 28 minutes of either half, whether the second pass is complete or incomplete is immaterial (except 
for clock status) as the penalty will be accepted…and for one minute of each half (1:00-1:59), it means 
absolutely nothing.  But inside of one minute in each half, it can make a big difference.  Food for thought:  
When the second pass being illegal is clearly an unintentional act, should a 10-Second Runoff depend on 
which foot touches the ground first?  Is this what the rule intended? 


