
2016 REPLAY QUIZ #8 
 

1. 4/10 @ B-20. A6's field goal is partially blocked behind the neutral zone, but continues beyond the neutral zone.  The 
ball bounces perilously close to A89 and B37 at the B-10, but the ruling on the field is that it comes to rest at the B-5 
untouched by either player, bringing up B - 1/10 @ B-20.  Replays show that the ball touched: 

 

 a. A89's foot at the B-10. 
 

  Confirm the ruling on the field.  Although A89 is guilty of illegally touching the ball, the ball was 
untouched by B beyond the neutral zone and is returned to the B-20 (8-4-2-b-1).   

 

 b. B37's leg at the B-10. 
 

  Reverse to B - 1/10 @ B-5.  Since the kick was touched by B beyond the neutral zone, all rules pertaining 
to scrimmage kicks apply (8-4-2-b-2). 

 

 c. A89's foot and then B37's leg at the B-10. 
 

  Reverse to B - 1/10 @ B-10.  All rules of scrimmage kicks apply since B touched the ball beyond the 
neutral zone (8-4-2-b-2), and so B will opt to accept the ball at the spot of A89's illegal touching (6-3-2-a). 

 

2. 2/5 @ B-30 with 0:12 remaining in the 4th quarter, the score A-17, B-19, and Team A with no time outs remaining.  
Quarterback A10 rolls to the right, and as he is falling at the B-35, completes a pass to A86 at the B-24 where he runs 
out of bounds with 0:04 on the clock.  As Team A is lining up to kick the potential game-winning field goal, the officials 
are paged because Replays show that A10's knee was down at 0:08 prior to releasing the ball. 

 

 Reverse to A - 3/10 @ B-35.  The clock remains at 0:04 because the reversal did not create a stopped clock 
(line to gain not reached), and the clock will start on the Ready.  If Team A had a time out remaining, they 
would certainly use it so that the clock would start on the Snap, but Replay could not use the available time 
out to restore the clock to 0:08 unless time expired on the play (as in 2016 Replay Case #145). 

 

3. 3/15 @ B-40.  After taking a direct snap, quarterback A9 throws the ball to A81 who is behind the neutral zone near 
the left sideline.  From there, A81 passes the ball downfield to A27, who controls the ball, gets a foot down inbounds, 
and is then hit by B36 at the B-20, causing him to fall to the ground out of bounds.  The ruling on the field is that A9's 
pass was backward…that A81's pass to A27 is complete…and that B36 is guilty of targeting, resulting in B - 1/G @ B-
10.  Replays show that: 

 

 a. A9 released the ball from the B-41…that A81 caught the ball at the B-42…that B36 launched and made forcible 
contact to A27's head…and that A27 lost control of the ball as he contacted the ground out of bounds. 

  
  Confirm B36s targeting and disqualification, as well as the legality of A81's pass, but reverse to an 

incomplete pass.  The 15-yard penalty is then enforced from the previous spot.  A - 1/10 @ B-25. 
 

 b. A9 released the ball from the B-42…that A81 caught the ball at the B-41…that B36 launched but made forcible 
contact to A27's shoulder…and that A27 maintained control of the ball as he contacted the ground out of bounds. 

 

  Reverse B36's targeting and disqualification, and also "drop a flag" for an illegal forward pass.  The 5-
yard penalty is enforced from the spot of A81's pass with a loss of down.  A - 4/21 @ B-46. *  

 

 c. A9 released the ball from the B-42…that A81 caught the ball at the B-41…that B36 launched and made forcible 
contact to A27's neck…and that A27 lost control of the ball as he contacted the ground out of bounds. 

 

  Confirm B36's targeting and disqualification, but "drop a flag" for an illegal forward pass.  This results in 
offsetting fouls.  A - 3/15 @ B-40. * 

 

 d. A9 released the ball from the B-41…that A81 caught the ball at the B-42…that B36 exhibited no indicator of 
targeting…and that A27 maintained control of the ball as he contacted the ground out of bounds. 

 

  Reverse B36's targeting and disqualification, but confirm the legality of A81's pass as well as the fact that 
the pass was complete.  A - 1/10 @ B-20.  

 

  * Because A81's pass was the second forward pass and therefore illegal, this results in a foul and renders 
irrelevant whether or not A27 completed the process of the catch…unless time is of the essence.  So, at 
5:31 in the 1st quarter of a 0-0 game, the Replay Official should not worry about the catch…but perhaps 
he should with 0:42 remaining in the 4th quarter of a 20-20 game as there is a Ready / Snap difference.  


