
2016 REPLAY QUIZ #7 
 
1. 4/10 @ A-25.  Just prior to B36's attempt to field A7's punt at the B-45, he is contacted by A89.  The ball is 

subsequently recovered by B21 and advanced to the A-45 where he is tackled.  The ruling on the field is: 
 
 a. kick-catch interference only.  Replays show that A89 launched and made forcible contact to B36's head, and had 

targeting been called, it would have been easily confirmed as "clear" and "obvious". 
 
  Initiate a targeting foul and disqualify A89.  The penalty for the targeting is enforced from the spot where 

the subsequent dead ball belongs to Team B (A-45) per 6-3-13, bringing up B - 1/10 @ A-30 - Snap.  This is 
more advantageous than enforcing the penalty for the kick-catch interference. 

 
 b. kick-catch interference with targeting.  Replays show that A89 launched, but forcible contact was to B36's shoulder. 

 
  Reverse the targeting foul and A89's disqualification.  The penalty for the kick-catch interference is 

enforced from the spot of the foul (B-45) per 6-4-1, bringing up B - 1/10 @ A-40 - Snap. 
 
2. 3/15 @ A-40.  A20 carries the ball to near the line to gain (B-45) where he fumbles.  The covering official drops his 

bean bag at the: 
 
 a. B-44 and brings the ball back to that point when it goes out of bounds at the B-40.  Replays show that the ball 

was fumbled at the B-46. 
 
  Reverse to A - 4/1 @ B-46 - Ready.  The spot of the fumble is reviewable because the line-to-gain was 

involved.  See 2016 Replay Case #98. 
 
 b. B-46 and brings the ball back to that point when it goes out of bounds at the B-40.  Replays show that the ball 

was fumbled at the B-44. 
 
  Reverse to A - 1/10 @ B-44 - Ready.  The spot of the fumble is reviewable because the line-to-gain was 

involved.  See 2016 Replay Case #98. 
 
3. 2/5 @ B-45.  A10's pass, intended for A87, falls incomplete untouched; however, the Back Judge flags B36 for 

defensive pass interference at the B-15. 
 
 a. Replays show that A87 stepped out of bounds on his own at the B-30. 
 
  Reverse the foul for defensive pass interference because A87 is not an eligible receiver per 7-3-4.  A87 

committed no foul because he did not touch the pass.  The result is A - 3/5 @ B-45 - Snap.  Even if A87 
touched the pass, the penalty (loss of down at the previous spot) would yield the same result. 

 
 b. The Field Judge informs the Back Judge and Referee that A87 stepped out of bounds on his own at the B-30, and 

the Referee announces, "There is no foul for defensive pass interference.  A87 lost his eligibility by stepping out of 
bounds."  Replays show that B24 forced A87 out of bounds and he immediately returned inbounds. 

 
  Reinstate the foul for defensive pass interference because A87 remained an eligible receiver.  After 

enforcement of the penalty from the previous spot, the result is A - 1/10 @ B-30 - Snap.  See 2016 Replay 
Case #45.  

  
4. 3/10 @ B-15.  A34 carries the ball to the B-6 where he is ruled out of bounds, resulting in A - 4/1 @ B-6.  Replays 

show that A34 fumbled prior to touching the sideline, and that in the immediate continuing action: 
 
 a. A87 recovered the ball at the B-4, took one step, and dove across B's goal line. 
 
  Reverse to A - 1/G @ B-4 - Ready.  This is a loose ball ruled dead with clear recovery in the immediate 

continuing action.  It belongs to the recovering team at the spot of the recovery, but any advance is 
nullified (12-3-3-d-2).  See 2016 Replay Case #80. 

 
 b. the ball rolls inbounds along the sideline and touches the pylon on B's goal line. 
 
  Reverse to B - 1/10 @ B-20 - Snap.  This is a loose ball ruled dead, and the resulting touchback becomes 

equivalent to "clear recovery" because it establishes who will have the ball (in this case, Team B).  See 
2016 Replay Case #94. 


