2015 REPLAY QUIZ #14

1/10 @ A-25. A14's pass to A83 is ruled incomplete at the A-30 to bring up 2/10 @ A-25. Video shows that A83
possessed the ball while standing at the A-30, and that he then attempted to pass the ball backward to A42 at the
A-25 (think "hook and lateral"). Video further shows that A83 was hit as he threw the backward pass, and that:

a.

the ball was recovered by grounded B37 at the A-15.

Reverse to B - 1/10 @ A-15. A14's forward pass was complete to A83, and there was a clear recovery of
A83's backward pass in the immediate continuing action. Start the clock on the snap.

the ball went out of bounds at the A-15.

Reverse to A - 2/20 @ A-15. A14's forward pass was complete to A83, and a backward pass going out of
bounds is considered a "clear recovery”. Start the clock on the ready.

A83's knee was down before he released the ball, which was recovered by grounded A42 at the A-15.

Reverse to A - 2/5 @ A-30. A14's forward pass was complete to A83, and he was down there. Start the
clock on the ready.

2/15 @ B-30. A6's pass to A19 in the end zone is ruled complete for a touchdown. Video shows that A19:

a.

leaped to control the ball while airborne...landed first with his left foot and then his right foot...was upright and
would have remained upright...but was then contacted by B28, and lost the ball as he fell to the ground.

Confirm the ruling on the field. If the receiver has completed the catch, and remains upright with the ball
firmly in his control, the ball is dead in Team B’s end zone and is a touchdown. If he then goes to the
ground as the result of a second occurrence, it remains a touchdown. (See 2015 Replay Case #32.) *

controlled the ball in full stride...touched first with his left foot and then his right foot...but was then contacted by
B28, and lost the ball as he fell to the ground.

Reverse to A - 3/15 @ B-30. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without
contact by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the
process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. (See 2015 Rule 2-4-3-b.)

3/5 @ A-40. A12's pass to A84 near the sideline at the 50 is ruled incomplete, resulting in 4/5 @ A-40. Video shows
that A84:

a.

controlled the ball in full stride...touched first with his left foot inbounds and then with his right foot out of
bounds...was upright and would have remained upright...but was then contacted by B36, and lost the ball as he
fell to the ground.

Reverse to A - 1/10 @ 50. As in 2a, the receiver had completed the catch, remained upright with the ball
firmly in his control, and the ball was dead when he stepped out of bounds. When he went to the ground
out of bounds as the result of a second occurrence, it remained a catch. (See 2015 Replay Case #37.) *

controlled the ball in full stride...touched first with his left foot and then his right foot, both inbounds...but was then
contacted by B28, and lost the ball as he fell to the ground out of bounds.

Confirm the ruling on the field. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or
without contact by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball
throughout the process of contacting the ground. (See 2015 Rule 2-4-3-b.)

* The "process of a catch” as described in Rule 2-4-3-a includes (in subsection 3) the requirement that a player
maintain control of the ball "long enough to allow him to perform an act common to the game". This can occur
very quickly (as in 2a and 3a) or may require more time (as in 2b and 3b). Regardless of the situation, the note
following 2015 Replay Case #32 cautions: "...if there is any question of whether the catch has been completed, if
he goes to the ground during the process of the catch and loses the ball, whether on his own or due to contact
by an opponent, then the pass is incomplete”.

4.

4/10 @ B-45. AS's punt is partially blocked, but the ruling on the field is that A21 recovered the ball at the B-46 and
advanced it to the B-35 to bring up A - 1/10 @ B-35. Video shows that A21 recovered the kick at the B-44.

Reverse to B - 1/10 @ B-44. Reset the clock to the time when A21 recovered the kick beyond the neutral zone
as the ball is dead there. Per Rule 12-3-4-d, Replay may review whether or not a scrimmage kick crossed the
neutral zone. (See 2015 Replay Case #105.)



