2015 REPLAY QUIZ #11

3/5 @ A-40. Back A21 is ruled out of bounds at the A-42 with 1:59 remaining in the 1st half. Video shows that:

a.

prior to his foot touching the sideline, A21 fumbled the ball with A87 recovering while grounded at the A-46.

Reverse to A - 1/10 @ A-46. When a loose ball is ruled dead and there is clear recovery in the immediate
continuing action, the ball belongs to the recovering team at the spot of recovery (Rule 12-3-3-d-2). Start
the clock on the Ready because the ball was never out of bounds.

prior to his foot touching the sideline, A21 fumbled the ball with B39 recovering at the A-46 and advancing to the
A-41 where he is tackled.

Reverse to B - 1/10 @ A-46. As above, the ball belongs to the recovering team at the spot of recovery, but
any advance is nullified (Rule 12-3-3-d-2). Start the clock on the Snap because Team B will next put the
ball into play.

prior to his foot touching the sideline, A21 fumbled the ball, but it is unclear who recovered the ball at the A-46.

The ruling on the field stand. If the Replay Official does not have indisputable video evidence at to which
team recovers, the dead ball ruling stands (Rule 12-3-3-d-1). Start the clock on the Snap because the ball
carrier was ruled out of bounds (though in error) with less than two minutes remaining in the half.

prior to his foot touching the sideline, A21 fumbled the ball and it went out of bounds at the A-46.

The result of the play in terms of down and distance will be the same regardless of whether A21 is ruled
out of bounds, or that he fumbled the ball forward and out of bounds; however, the clock status will be
different. The Replay Official must use his judgment to determine if the clock status presents a direct
competitive impact on the game, and therefore whether or not he should stop the game (Rule 12-5-1-a-3).

A21 did not go out of bounds at the A-42, but rather took three more steps and went out of bounds at the A-46.

Not reviewable. If the runner is ruled out of bounds, Replay can only look at the position of the ball at that
point in relation to the line-to-gain or the goal line, neither of which is in play here. (See 2015 Replay Case
#22.) The one exception is if the runner is ruled out of bounds but crosses the goal line in the immediate
continuing action. (This action is limited to a "step and a dive". See 2015 Replay Cases #121 and #122.)

. 2/20 @ B-35. A7's pass is complete to A85 at the B-30. He runs to the B-20 where he is brought down by B24 who is
flagged. The referee announces:

a.

"Personal foul...Targeting...Number 24. Half-the-distance to the goal. Automatic first down. The play is under
further review." Video shows that while B24 contacted A85 above the shoulders, he did not do so with the crown
of the helmet.

Reverse to no targeting. B24 is not disqualified. A - 3/5 @ B-20. A85 was clearly a runner, and as such is
not a defenseless player (and no announcement of such was made). In this case, B24 can only be guilty
of targeting if he makes forcible contact with the crown of his helmet (Rule 9-1-3).

"Personal foul...Unnecessary roughness, with targeting...Number 24. Half the distance to the goal. Automatic
first down. The play is under further review." Video shows that B24 struck A85 in the head with his forearm.

Reverse to no targeting. B24 is not disqualified, but the penalty for his unnecessary roughness foul (Rule
9-1-2) is enforced. A - 1/G @ B-10. A85 was clearly a runner, and as such is not a defenseless player (and
no announcement of such was made), so B24 can only be guilty of targeting if he makes forcible contact
with the crown of his helmet (Rule 9-1-3).

"Personal foul...Unnecessary roughness...Number 24. Half the distance the goal. Automatic first down.
Because the foul was flagrant, number 24 is disqualified". Video shows that B24 struck A85 in the chest with his
forearm.

There is nothing to review as targeting was not called. While contact was to the chest, Rule 9-1-2 says
that a player may not "...strike an opponent’s helmet (including the face mask), neck, face, or any other
part of the body with an extended forearm...", and any foul deemed to be flagrant requires disqualification
per Rule 9-1-1. Correct or incorrect by rule or philosophy, Replay does not have a dog in this fight.



