
2013 Replay Quiz #3 Rulings: 
 

1. Team A trails 20-14 and has the ball first & 10 on the Team B 15-yard line with only seconds 

left in the fourth quarter and Team A is out of timeouts.  A pass is completed to A87 on the 

Team A 7-yard line.   As the clock winds down, Team A rushes to the line hoping to spike the 

ball to stop the clock.  The QB muffs the snap, goes down on a knee, quickly picks up the ball 

and spikes it to the ground.  The R, from his position does not see the QB rise from his knee and 

signals to stop  the clock for the apparent incomplete pass with 2 seconds remaining.  The LJ 

rushes in urging the R to wind the clock, telling him that the QB was down before he spiked the 

ball and spots the ball where it was when the knee was down.  The R immediately winds he 

clock but the ball is snapped before time expires and Team A completes a pass in the end zone 

for a TD. 

               Would you stop and review this play?   No.  There is a provision in the rules that allows 

to put time back on the clock if during a play for which time expires for a half.  We are 

permitted to put time back on but not take it off 

Comments:    There is no provision that allows us to take time off the clock, if he clock is 

erroneously stopped such as to allow an extra play as on this play. 

This is an unfortunate officiating error in stopping the clock, which is not reviewable 

unless you wanted to go the egregious error route.   By rule the QB was actually down 

prior to throwing the pass.  Otherwise, if he had picked the ball up with his knee not on 

the ground, the pass would have been an illegal forward pass since the ball touched the 

ground prior to his pass.  

There would be no 10-second runoff since the QB was down prior to the pass, there is no 

foul and thus no 10-second runoff. 

    

 

2. Fourth & 10 just beyond the Team A 40-yard line.  Potential kicker A! runs towards the sideline 

as if he is going to kick the ball but instead passes to one of the up backs A2 on the A 45-yard line.  

A2 is hit about ½ yard short of 50-yard line and driven back and downed on the  A 43-yard line.  

The HL marks Forward progress just across the 50-yard line.  A measurement results in a first 

down by about an inch.  Is this a reviewable play?  Yes _X__  No ____. 

What is the reviewable aspect if any? ____Spot as it involves line to gain.   The ruling of 

forward progress itself is not reviewable but the FP spot in relation to the line to gain is._ 

If reviewed, at what point would you stop for review? ___Immediately following measurement.  

Were the spot to be so obviously off that a first down was awarded without a measurement, we 

would stop as soon as the first down was awarded.  Case Book Plays #37 & 38.  Rule 12-3-3-e.  

 

 

3. Fourth & 9 on the Team A 41-yard line.  A80 contacts receiver B22 as he is attempting to catch 

the kick on the B 27-yard line.  The ball clearly bounces of the shoulder of B22 and rolls to the 

B 30-yard line, where it is recovered by A82.  The ROF is ball was touched by B22 and 

recovered by A82.  It will be first & 10 for A on the B 30-yard line.  It appears that there was 

early contact by A80 that should have been KCI and that this contact also caused B22 to touch 

the ball.   Would you stop this play for review?    Yes ___  No _X_.  If reviewable, list the 

reviewable aspects.  The KCI foul is not reviewable.  Even though touching of a kick is a 

reviewable aspect, in a case like this, where the touching is clear and not in question and 

has been acknowledged on the field, there is no need to review the touching aspect.  

Whether or not the receiver was forced into the ball is not a reviewable aspect.  Case 

Book Play #112 & 114.  Rule 12-3-4-a.  If there was a question as to if B22 actually 

touched the ball, we could stop to review the touching but on this play we do not have 

that option.  As much as we would like to get involved to try and “save the officials”, this 

is not a play situation where we can do that. 

 



4. Third & 5 on the Team B 47.  A1’s pass is intercepted by B21 on the B 30-yard line and 

returned to the Team A 40-yard line.  Team A is flagged for an illegal formation and during B 

38’s run B56 clipped on the 50 yard line.  Replays show that the pass hit the ground before 

B21’s interception. 

Would you stop & review this play?  Yes __X__   No ____ 

Comments if yes.   We would have to review this play.  The incomplete pass would take away 

the offsetting aspect of the two fouls.  The illegal formation would be a live-ball foul by Team A 

and the clipping would be a dead-ball foul by Team B.  After review the ruling would be an 

incomplete pass and Team A would be penalized 5 yards from the B 47 yard line to the A 48-yard 

line.  Since Team B’s clip is a personal foul, it would be penalized from the Team A 48-yard line.  

After enforcement of both fouls the result would be Team A, 1st & 10 on the B 37-yard line.  Clock 

would be reset to time showing when pass was incomplete. 

Comments if no. 

 
 


