
2013 –  Replay Quiz #2 Rulings: 
 

1. Fourth & 9 on the Team A 41-yard line.  A80 contacts receiver B22 as he is attempting to catch 

the kick on the B 27-yard line.  The ball clearly bounces of the shoulder of B22 and rolls to the B 30-

yard line, where it is recovered by A82.  The ROF is ball was touched by B22 and recovered by A82.  

It will be first & 10 for A on the B 30-yard line.  It appears that there was early contact by A80 that 

should have been KCI and that this contact also caused B22 to touch the ball.   Would you stop this 

play for review?    Yes ___  No _X_.   
If reviewable, list the reviewable aspects.   

The KCI foul is not reviewable.  Even though touching of a kick is a reviewable aspect, in a 

case like this, where the touching is clear and not in question and has been acknowledged 

on the field, there is no need to review the touching aspect.  Whether or not the receiver 

was forced into the ball is not a reviewable aspect.  Case Book Play #112.  Rule 12-3-4-a.  

If there was a question as to if B22 actually touched the ball, we could stop to review the 

touching but on this play we do not have that option.  As much as we would like to get 

involved to try and “save the officials”, this is not a play situation where we can do that. 

 

2. K punts on fourth & 6 on the B 46.  R1 in position to catch the kick at the last second pulls his 

arms in and backs away from the ball.  The ball goes through his arms and bounces on the 8-yard 

line, continuing to roll into the end zone.  As the ball is rolling in the end zone, it is batted by K1 

near the end line back into the end zone, where it is recovered by K2 near the end line.  The ruling is 

that the ball was touched by R1 and recovered in the end zone by K2 for a TD. 
What are the reviewable aspects of the play?  Was the ball touched by R1 and if so was the 

recovery by K2 inbounds. 

 

3. Same play as #2 above.  A replay review shows that the ball was touched by R1 and recovered 

inbounds in the end zone by K2. 

What would be the ruling by replay? With IVE, replay could confirm both the touching by R 

and the recovery by K.  The touching by R1 however did cause the bat by K1 in the end zone to 

become a foul by rule.  While this is not one of the reviewable fouls as listed in 12-3-6, the RO 

would certainly mention it to the referee during their conversation, for to award K a 

touchdown in these circumstances would have grave consequences.  The referee would then 

announce: “After the review, the ball was touched by the receiving team, however this 

touching caused the bat by the kicking team in the end zone to be a foul.  After enforcement of 

the penalty from the previous spot, it will be the kicking team’s ball 4
th

 and 16 on the kicking 

team 44-yard line.  Clock will start on the snap.” 

 
4. Same play as #2 above.   Replay review shows that R1 did not touch the ball. 

What would be the ruling by replay?  This would be a much easier play for replay.  Because 

the ball was untouched by R, it would become dead upon touching the ground in R’s end zone.  

K’s bat would now be insignificant since the ball becomes dead upon touching the ground in 

R’s end zone.  Announcement after review:  “After review, it has been determined that the 

receiving team did not touch the ball, causing it to become dead when touching the ground in 

the end zone, resulting in a touchback.  It will be the receiving team’s ball, first and 10 on the 

20-yard line.” 

 

 


