2013 — Replay Quiz #1 Rulings:

1.

Third and five on B15. A1’s pass is intercepted by B48 in the end zone. B1 runs to the B 16-yard
line, where he attempts to handoff to B44, who muffs the ball. B44 recovers the ball at the B 29-
yard line and runs for a touchdown. A replay shows that the attempted handoff by B48 was
actually forward.

Would you stop and review this play? Yes No_ X

Since the handoff was never completed there is no forward handing and nothing to review.
Rule 12-3-2-d. Rule 2-13-2-c.

First and ten on A 7-yard line. QB A13 scrambles into the end zone where he is under pressure
by several Team B players. A13 throws an attempted backward pass towards back A24, which A78
steps in and catches it in the end zone, and runs to the A21, where he is down. The Team B Coach
challenges that A13’s pass was forward, which it was.
Is this a reviewable play? Yes X No
Reviewable aspects if reviewable? Forward or backward pass. Touching of a forward pass
Replay ruling after review? Reverse to a forward pass. We would tell the referee that the
pass was forward and was touched by the ineligible receiver #78. The crew probably already
knows this but did not flag it because they thought it was backward. The R should then
announce that the pass was forward making the touching by #78 illegal. The offense will be
penalized ¥: the distance from the 7-yard line. It will be 1** & 13 V2 on the 3 ¥ yard line.
Comments: The forward pass itself is not illegal as it was thrown from behind line, there was
an eligible receiver in the area and was not a second forward pass.
e Replay can review the touching of the pass but not the intent and cannot call the
illegal touching foul. Once the R knows the situation he can announce the foul and
throw the flag or just announce the foul as above, depending on the conference policy.

Second & 10 on the A 9-yard line. QB A13, standing on the 4-yard line throws a pass towards
A80 who is on the 10-yard line. The forward pass is batted high into the air by defensive tackle
#77. Back A24 running towards his goal line catches the batted ball on the 2-yard line and his
momentum carries him into the end zone, where he is tackled. The ROF is a safety. The Team A
coach challenges that A24’s momentum carried him into his end zone and that it should be their
ball on the 2-yard line.
Is this a reviewable play? Yes__~  No_X
Your ruling if reviewed: NA

Comments: A ruling of momentum is not reviewable, only the momentum spot if
momentum is ruled on the play, however on this play there can be no momentum. In order to
have momentum there must be a catch or recovery of an opponent’s pass. Team A cannot
have momentum on a Team A pass. B77’s bat is not possession and the ball still belongs to
Team A.

Third & 8 on the Team B 38-yard line. Ball carrier A24 is hit on the Team B 33-yard line and
fumbles. B78 dives for the loose ball and muffs it out of bounds on the 29-yard line. The officials
put the ball in play, Team A first & 10 on the Team B 29-yard line.

Is this a reviewable play? Yes_ ~  No_X

Even though this involves giving Team A an unmerited first down the play is not reviewable. A fumble
forward and out of bounds is not reviewable unless the officials bring the ball back to the spot of the
fumble and that spot involves the line to gain. Replay Case Book Play #93.



