1. RULING: B 1/Goal/ A1. A56 commits an illegal batting foul by batting the ball in any direction when the ball is in an end zone. The 10-yard penalty is enforced half the distance from the end of B96's run, A's 2. The result of the play is a touchback, not a safety. Impetus involves the ball going from the field of play into an end zone. A56 did not impart new impetus. If this was a try, the try would end and it would be A f/k A35.

2. RULING: Touchback. B 1/10 B20; Snap. It is legal for B44 to push, but not pull, an opponent after the pass is touched (9-3-4-b-2). Thus, B44 does not foul. It is not a foul for a Team B player to go out of bounds, returns inbounds and touches a legal forward pass. The restriction only applies to Team A players. If B44 leaped from out of bounds, controlled the pass while airborne and landed in B's end zone, the pass would be incomplete when B44 touched the pass.

3. RULING: A 4/7 A23; Snap. The result of the play is a touchback. The punt crossed the neutral zone which is a requirement for postscrimmage kick enforcement. There appears to be a quirk in Rule 10-2-4 where the ball actually "belongs to" Team B even though Team A will next snap the ball. The subsequent dead ball "belongs to" Team B in A's end zone so that penalty enforcement won't work. It is reasonable to assume that the 5-yard penalty is enforced from the previous spot and the down replayed. If the fumble went out of bounds on A's 4, it would be B 1/goal A3. If the fumble went out of bounds on A's 10, it would be B 1/goal A5.

4. RULING: B 1/10 B22; Snap. Team B will decline the penalty for A66's live ball foul. The ball belongs to Team B at the spot of illegal touching, B's 22. If Team B commits an unsportsmanlike foul during A6's run, the touchdown would count. COMMENT: The Pigskin Page believes that a punt, illegal touching and a foul combination has now been changed for consistency and ease of enforcement (sort of).

5. RULING: B 1/10 A14. The 10-yard penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul, A's 24. The penalty carries a loss of down since the batting did not occur beyond the neutral zone during a scrimmage kick. This enforcement is more advantageous than the tack-on. If the bat was muffed by a player of either team after the batting and went out of bounds on A's 18, it would be B 1/goal A9. The tack-on would apply since the kick crossed the neutral zone.

6. RULING: B 1/10 A14. Extend fourth quarter. When the interference with opportunity foul also involves a personal foul, the penalty may be enforced from (a) the spot of the foul; or (b) the spot where the susequent dead ball belongs to Team B. In this play, The 15-yard penalty is enforced half the distance from A's 28. If the official had not included the personal foul, it would be B 1/10 B47. If the personal foul was targeting and was reversed, it would also be B 1/10 B47. NOTE: 2011 NCAA Bulletin #4, Play #4 no longer applies if a targeting foul is reversed.

7. RULING: A 1/10 B40. The ball became dead when A88 hit the ground out of bounds. The most forward part of the ball when declared out of bounds between the end lines is the point of forward progress even if the ball is outside the sideline. When a ball carrier dives, jumps or even strides over the sideline, then forward progress is determined by the position of the ball as the ball crosses the sideline. This also includes being blocked into the air by an opponent. The ball carrier did none of these as he simply fell out of bounds. NOTE: A similar play occurred in the Texas-Southern Cal game early this season. (4-2-4, A.R. 8-2-1-X)

[PIGSKIN PAGE PREDICTION (P**3)]: RULING: A 3/13 A47; Snap. Game clock remains at 0:39. The timeout request by Team B after the penalty is completed results in the clock starting on the snap. NOTE: ZAP 10 does NOT trump all timing rules!!!

Rom Gilbert / pigskin@romgilbert.us / October 12, 2017 / (q-1708a)