QUIZ ANSWERS: 2017 WEEK #6


1. RULING: A 1/10 50. Postscrimmage kick enforcement does not apply since Team B will not next put the ball in play. This play is similar to A.R. 6-3-2-II in that there is an enforcement spot and illegal touching. The 10-yard penalty is enforced from the previous spot, A's 40. If Team A declined the penalty expecting a touchdown, Team B would take the ball at the spot of illegal touching, B's 18. Just enforce the penalty from the previous spot, announce the foul and give the ready signal. Keep the game moving. NOTE: This play and ruling are different from the ones in 2015 CFO Bi-Weekly Quiz #1, Play #9, whereTeam B never gained possession.. The Pigskin Page does not know if quiz rulings are considered official.


2. RULING: A f/k A35. Team B scores two points. DQ A66. Team B declines the penalty for A66's foul and takes the result of the play which is the two points. If A66's foul occurred after Team B possession, the 15-yard penalty would be enforced on the succeeding free kick making it A f/k A20. If Team B was offside on this play, the score would not count, the fouls would offset, the penalties would cancel and it would be A retry B3.


3. RULING: A 3/7 A33. Dead ball foul. False start of the second kind. After a huddle or shift and before the snap, all Team A players must come to a stop and remain stationary for at least one full second before the ball is snapped. NOTE: Substitute A33 may not really satisfy 2-27-9-b to become a player. However, rules are difficult to write to cover all possibilities. Common sense prevails. Shut it down at the snap.


4. RULING: A 1/10 B39. Horse collar tackle. The 15-yard penalty is enforced from the end of A33s run, As 46. Under the spirit and intent of the rule, the ball carrier does not have to be pulled to the ground. All players are prohibited from grabbing the inside back collar of the shoulder pads or jersey, the nameplate area, or the inside collar of the side of the shoulder pads or jersey, and immediately pulling the ball carrier down. This rule does not apply to a ball carrier, including a potential passer, who is inside the tackle box. The tackle box disintegrates when the ball leaves the tackle box.


5. RULING: A 1/10 B16. The holder may rise to catch or recover an errant snap. If he returns to a kneeling position, it must be immediate. The ball remains a live ball when, at the snap, an offensive player is in position to kick the ball. The ball may be kicked, passed or advanced by rule. The holder may maintain his knee on the ground until he gets tackled by a defensive lineman and blows out one or both knees. The ball would also remain a live ball if an opponent was able to snatch the ball or bat the ball from the holder's hands while the holder was in a kneeling position. The ball would become dead if the holder catches or recovers the ball while grounded after the kick is blocked. NOTE: Before this rule change, a holder had to have his knee off the ground if he intended to do anything with the ball other than hold for the kick. An official missing a call is not a good reason for a rule change.


6. RULING: A 1/10 A30. Delay of game. The foul occurred after the previous series ended and before the ready for play. The ready for play is given by the referee in this play. The 5-yard penalty is enforced before the line to gain is established. It would be a dead ball foul and A 1/15 A30 if there was an illegal snap after the ready for play. COMMENT: The Umpire held up the snapper in a real hurry-up play for over 100 years and that worked just fine.


7. RULING: A 1/10 B33; Ready. During a scrimmage down, defensive players are prohibited from blocking an eligible Team A receiver below the waist beyond the neutral zone unless attempting to get at the ball or the ball carrier. A Team A receiver remains eligible until a forward pass is no longer possible by rule. If the block occurred in or behind the neutral zone, there would be no foul because there was no kick. This is not a foul during a scrimmage kick down since there was no scrimmage kick.


pigskin@romgilbert.us / September 28, 2017 / (q-1706a)