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When talking about intentional grounding, we use the term “under duress” as a pre-

qualifier or requirement for ING to be called.  It makes sense… a passer who’s under 

duress, in trouble or about to be sacked might intentionally throw the ball/pass 

away to avoid the loss.  That said, I’m stumped in finding any reference to a passer 

being “under duress” in the NCAA Rulebook. 

 

Rule 7 gives three scenarios for intentional ground… 1) throwing a ball directly to 

the ground to conserve time after the ball has touched the ground or not after 

immediately controlling the ball; 2) to conserve time the passer throws the ball 

forward into an area with no eligible Team A receiver; or 3) to conserve yardage 

throws the ball forward into an area with no eligible Team A receiver.  The 

exception being that the passer outside the tackle box may throw the ball so that it 

lands/crosses beyond the neutral zone (extended).  This exception only applies to 

the player controlling the snap or backward pass.  Nowhere in Rule 7 is the term 

“duress” used or implied. 

 

The closest wording I could find in the Approved Rulings was the term “heavy rush” 

which would translate into being under duress by most of us.  In speaking with one 

coach about intentional grounding and the passer being under duress, he semi-

jokingly replied that his passer was under duress from the time the snap started, 

maybe from the time they called the play.  He might be right but the reality and 

purpose of this discussion is on identifying the elements of “under duress” so we can 

consistently rule on the legality of the pass.  Is your definition of duress the same as 

my definition? 

 

Here’s some indicators of duress… 1) panic on the part of the passer; 2) being 

chased or forced out of the pocket; 3) rushing the passing attempt because of a 

“heavy rush”. 

 

QBs/passers who panic show it by rushing a throw because they see or sense the 

impending contact coming from the rush.  They won’t care where the pass goes or if 

an eligible receiver is in the area.  They’re getting rid of the ball hoping it will ease 

the pain of the hit they’re about to take or just trying to avoid the loss not caring 

whether it’s called “grounding” or not. 

 

The passer who is chased or forced out of the pocket is different than the passer 

who sprints on of the pocket on a planned roll out type play.  The roll out passer 

isn’t being forced out of his pocket or protection.  Whether he’s under duress will 

depend on the rush and competency of his blockers.  But simply rolling out is not an 

indicator of duress.  When the passer is trying to set up or is set up in the pocket and 

now pulls the ball down and scrambles to avoid a potential sack, this is being under 

duress.  If he chooses to pass then he needs to find an eligible receiver or get outside 

the tackle box and get the pass to or beyond the NZ to avoid the ING penalty. 



 

The question we hear the most is, “Is it duress when the passer, under a heavy rush, 

stands his ground without flinching and throws it away?  He didn’t show panic nor 

did he get flushed out of the pocket.  At best he just dipped a shoulder to avoid 

contact and maintained his focus downfield trying to find a receiver.  No receiver is 

in the area and the passer was not outside the tackle box.”  Assuming the pass is not 

tipped nor the passer’s throw altered by the defender’s contact, the passer will be 

responsible for where he throws the pass when he is under duress or a heavy rush.  

So the answer is “yes” this is considered duress. 

 

Make sure your wing officials understand grounding situations too.  They won’t be 

throwing the flag but they need to recognize “hot plays” and communicate in a 

timely manner with the Referee so the correct judgment can be made on a legal 

versus illegal pass situation.  If the wing official has an eligible receiver that will 

trump being in/out of the tackle box and getting the pass to/or beyond the NZ.  Just 

touch your chest indicating “eligible number” and then point to the eligible receiver.  

The Referee can turn on his microphone and announce, “There’s no foul for 

intentional grounding.  Eligible receiver #80 was in the area.”  If no receiver is in the 

area and the pass is suspect for ING, immediately spring back to your Referee and 

tell him whether the pass made it to the NZ or not.  Now it’s in the Referee’s hands 

for the passer being in or outside the tackle box.  How quickly this is communicated 

to the Referee is important so he can be as accurate as possible on this spot foul 

enforcement. 

 

One veteran official once told me that if your QB is not under duress within two 

seconds after the snap, then you or your Umpire probably should have a flag for 

holding. 

 

If being under duress is a component of intentional grounding, the next question is if 

the QB/passer is NOT under duress can he just end the play by throwing the ball 

into an area where there is no receiver or if he’s still in the tackle box, just throwing 

the ball forward to the ground and incomplete?  And how about the QB/passer who 

throws the ball high over the end line when deep in the red zone?  Most would argue 

that the passer is not avoiding a loss of yardage when no “heavy rush” is imminent.  

He’s only giving up the down.  However, if time is a factor this could be an attempt to 

conserve time if all receivers are covered and the play just isn’t developing.  This 

scenario will be a rarity to see but one to think about how you’ll handle it when it 

does occur. 

 

 


