Targeting ? SurveyMonkey

Should the targeting call have been overturned by replay booth?

Response Response

Percent Count
Yes | I 55.1% 109
No (Please provide reason in
| 44.9% 89

comments section)

Other coments:

73
answered question 198
skipped question 1
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Q1. Should the targeting call have been overturned by replay booth?
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The hit caused the helment to come off.

Because of the helmet contact

the act by #8 orange has the majority for a targetting foul. He went up with
shoulder AND head (BTW it looks like to me that he lowered his helmet).
Targetting ejection should have standed here.

Player use crown of helmet

Looks like he uses helmet as weapon as he comes up underneath facemask
The helmets contact which were the guidelines give by Rogers Redding

Two criteria, defenseless player (passing or just after) and then Head or Neck of
player. This hit, to me, is high enough to warrant the flag. He could have
lowered his target rather than come in "vertical".

Led with head right into the chin!

does not meet the criteria for launch

Not contact with the crown of the helmet nor was the contact above the
shoulders.

Head and nsck area

Player led w/ helmet into QB

Hit to head

Led with crown of helmet above the shoulders of the gb

Most major college coordinators want it to be bigger...

The helmet made contact and caused the QB helmet to become dislodged
No launch, initil contact is with forearm, not helmet-incidental helmet to helmet
Helmet to Helmet, with launch

Forearm first, helmet to side.

No intend by defender to punish QB contact is late.

When in doubt, call penalty. This was too close to overturn

When in doubt out.

crown of helmet used, didn't jump for ball (as teammate did), stays with high
target line.

The defenders helmet contacted the quarterbacks helmet
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Q1. Should the targeting call have been overturned by replay booth?
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If the intent of the new penalty is to eliminate dangerous contact to and above
the shoulders, the fact that a forearm makes contact nonoseconds before the
illegal contact should not releive the defensive player from the new penalty.
There was helmet to helmet contact.

Player turns head to the side.

Crouch and lead with the helmet to the head and neck area. Tell him to go lower.

I'm glad the player did not get DQ'd for this hit as it was not targeting in my book.
I'm surprised replay overturned it based on what | thought they were told.

helmet to helmet
It was close, and when in doubt it is a targeting foul
No call should stand, QB was contacted in the head by the defenders helmet

Defensive player did make contact with crown of helmet. He led with forearm
then made helmet to helmet contact, which seemed intentional.

Looks like replay officials were more concerned about the forearm and missed
helmet to the chin. Good call by R.

Clear contact with crown of helmet to QB's chin - no question in my mind

The hit was in the head/neck area regardless of whether or not the crown of the
helmet was involved.

Redding's statment if helmets touch DQ stands

defender came in with helmet under face mask

crown of the def helmt hit QB helmet and he wasand the def was looking down
Hit was not late, However had helmet contact to a defensless player.

Marginal contact for RFP. Announcers are paid to talk, not be aware of what they
are talkoing about.

stands wouls be the correct call. Player lead with helmet

The targeting player had his head down and was trying to punish the
quarterback, not play the ball. The defender could not have been playing the
ball since his head was down and he could not see the ball.

Not a great call, but there was helmet contact. My understanding is it should not
be reversed if there is any helmet contact.

The initial contact appears to be from the defenders helmet to the face mask of
the QB. If you slow it down, you can see the facemask of the QB lift up as the
contact is made. By the guidelines we were told, it should be 100% clear that no
contact with the helmet was made to reserve the DQ.
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Q1. Should the targeting call have been overturned by replay booth?

46
47

48

49

50

51

52

53

54

55

56

57

58

59

60

61

62

63

64

65

66

67

68

69

clearly not a targeting foul as QB head or neck was not contacted
Crow of helmet right under the chin.

totally unecessary, dips his head, and makes helemt to helmet contact, meets
targeting criteria, good call, poor reversal

stands

helmet to helmet contact

still proper call for roughing the passer

Unless the RO is 110% sure that there was NO CONTACT in the head / neck
region AND NO CONTACT with the the crown of the helmet, then the ruling on
the field stands.

Defender made significant contact to the defenseless passer's helmet.

The Intent is still there and hits the player with the crown of the helmet

Replay focused on the elbow per the announcement however the helmet of the
defender still was lowered into the passer's head/neck area.

Contact to the head

Tackler led with his helmet and struck in the neck/chin area
Leads with crown of helmet on defenseless play

elbow was not the problem.

Contact with the crown. Lowered the head.

The contact was initiated below the shoulder. The QB's head moves forward
contacting the top of #8 the defenders helmet.

Player lowered his head and contacted a defenseless player in the neck area.
Helmet to helmet contact regardless of forearm contact

Player Lowered his helmet.

Crown of helmet hits QB chin.

neck "area" with lowered crown.

Pretty simple one here. Targeting tot the Neck Area. Simple call. NEVER
should have been overturned.

no consistency with what D2 and D3 officials have to handle, make the call and
stick to it

Helmet contact

50f6

Sep 3, 2013 12:11 PM
Sep 3, 2013 11:57 AM

Sep 3, 2013 11:28 AM

Sep 3, 2013 11:18 AM
Sep 3, 2013 11:09 AM
Sep 3,2013 9:19 AM

Sep 3, 2013 9:14 AM

Sep 3,2013 9:01 AM
Sep 3, 2013 8:58 AM

Sep 3, 2013 8:46 AM

Sep 3, 2013 8:31 AM
Sep 3, 2013 8:11 AM
Sep 3,2013 7:51 AM
Sep 3, 2013 7:26 AM
Sep 3, 2013 7:25 AM

Sep 3, 2013 7:23 AM

Sep 3, 2013 7:02 AM
Sep 3, 2013 6:50 AM
Sep 3, 2013 6:40 AM
Sep 3, 2013 6:39 AM
Sep 3, 2013 6:35 AM

Sep 3, 2013 6:30 AM

Sep 3, 2013 6:26 AM

Sep 3, 2013 4:24 AM



Q1. Should the targeting call have been overturned by replay booth?

70 Doubtful if roughing the passer
71 It does appear that the QB's helmet is contacted.

72 That's leading with the crown and making contact to the head or neck area. Pick
one. Same outcome.

73 The description given by R of the forearm not contacting the neck area is

irrelevant to the fact that this defender did not attempt to lower his target zone
and initiated the contact to this defenseless player to his facemask.
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